“Mine is the Cross on which the burdens of the world are laid. How foolish is any one of My disciples who sees to bear his own burdens, when there is only one place for them – My Cross….But, My children, you may think I did say, “Take up our cross daily, and follow me.” Yes, but the cross given to each one of you is only a cross provided on which you can crucify the self of yours that hinders progress and joy, and prevents the flow through your being of My invigorating Life and Spirit.” – God Calling

1 Peter 5:7 tells us “casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.” So the question is why is our burdens not given to God from the get go? What can these burdens do to us: soil the soul, saturate the mind, stricken the conscience, sadden the heart,  sicken the body,  sour the spirit, seal the lips, and separates us from God.

The question would be, if God tells us to cast our cares upon Him, why do we needlessly continue to carry our own burdens. If Jesus carried the cross for OUR burdens, why are we still carrying our own cross….

Too many times I have carried burdens all by myself. I am so good at hiding the fact that I carry these burdens without asking for help. Step by step, problem by problem, burden by burden, I am learning to turn to God first. Good and Bad I am seeking God more and more to see me through.

Lately at work is seems to be one hill after another hill and honestly feeling trapped at a place I don’t want to be.  For weeks I have struggled and vented about this place. Truly working at a place where you feel like an outsider and hear what is be said is not the happy job of your life place to work at! However, I felt this was my burden, I slacked, I am not “experienced” enough for bigger and better things, no-ones hiring, on and on.

Finally, after some struggle because I am hardheaded, I turned to God and said “OK if this is where I need to be right now, I will offer up my best and just go with the flow. ” Mind you this choice has NOT been an easy task for me the hard headed, do-this-my-own self kind of person. But I handed this one over to God.

There are good days and the bad days, God has been with me through the good and the bad. I had another bad day and was truly struggling. Do I walk, do I stay…..and then I heard “Do you trust me”. Now I am not one of those people who “hears voices”, but I was reminded of giving my burden to Him and placing my trust in Him to take care of it. I heard “Do you trust me” a couple of times. Yeah I guess God even knows me well, you have to tell me a few times to get it to sink into my head! So after a number of times hearing this, I said OK God, I do trust you, you have this.Are things peachy, happy and better? No, but I know things will get better, whether here or someplace else. God has his plan and this is not a burden I need to carry.

Feeling like we have the capabilities to take care of our own burdens and need no help is ridiculous. I have carried burdens for years and well, they have done nothing but weigh me down, making me unhappy. I have learned in just a short time the relief, calm and peace that has come with taking my problems, my burdens directly to God first. Though things can be difficult, the peace comes from knowing God has this, God can take care of this, and all I need to do is just trust and believe in him and wait.

Psalm 68:19 “Blessed be the Lord, Who daily loads us with benefits, The God of our salvation!”

Galatians 6:2 “Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.”

Psalms 138:7 “Though I walk in the midst of trouble, You will revive me; You will stretch out Your hand, Against the wrath of my enemies, And Your right hand will save me.”

Psalms 55: 22 “Cast your burden on the Lord, And He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved.”

2 Corinthians 1:3-4Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.”

