Tags

, , ,


Song is in my head when I get home: “Step by Step, Heart to Heart, Left, right, left, we all fall down like toy soldiers”. Ok so I am sure what I view from this verse is quite different than the true meaning behind this song. Interestingly I only heard this part and it made me think of two things. Is God talking, oh absolutely.

First I think of walls that have been built up. Yet “Step by Step”, God is with you through the good and the bad, “Heart to Heart” God talks to you, molding you, making you into the person HE wants you to be, until those walls fall down. Yes finally, with God, the walls fall down. God has gone in step by step and heart to heart going brick by brick, excuse after excuse, and He removes the wall of pain and disappointment that have been built up over the years.

Second, I think of the verse Roman 3:23(NKJV) “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” and continue to read on to Roman 3:24 “Being justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.” We all fall down, we all sin, we all make mistakes, and we are all human. Yet Jesus died for our sins so we are all forgiven. Interestingly, the bible verse of the day.

As I continue this walk with God, this “unsettle me”, through ups and downs, I know he’s working on me. Quite frankly, he’s been working on me for a while now and I have been too blind, too hard-headed to see it. But when I look past myself, I can see what God has been teaching me, I can see that God has been taking each of my excuses, hurts, disappointments and slowly removing each brick I so neatly built as a wall…

He speaks quietly, and truth be told, I haven’t listened all that well, I never do. So as always with me, His voice always became more distinctive. Today I hear not once, but over and over, “What excuses do you have now?” None God reminds me. Yes in my rationale I think of an excuse or a reason and God continues to butt in and reminds me how each excuse I make, is not valid. God tells us in Psalm 32:8 “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with my eye.”

So, “Step by Step, heart to heart” God is there. “Left right left, we all fall down” God is there.

