Tags

, , , ,


I had received a rather long email from my classmate the other morning. A few days ago I had uploaded my portion of our group paper.  My classmate felt that my portion of the research paper was written solely on my opinion. She further went on to explain how the professor would not accept work based solely on someone’s opinions.

I was a bit angry by this…How dare she?!?!?!! She assumed that I had written my opinion and conducted no research. She also further assumed that I did not understand the importance of research and references. Really? I have written lots of papers and received really good grades and this wasn’t my first paper! I wanted to email her letting her know I was not stupid and I knew what I was doing and what had to be done. Oh it would have been arrogant, and cocky. Yet a voice said “Let it go”…

So I looked over my uploaded paper….I forgot to add my references….A bit humbled….Still, I honestly wanted to send an email attacking her, but once again I heard “Let it go!”, over and over….So, I sent over my list of references.

Though humbled, I was still like, “How dare she…of all things…she doesn’t know me…accusing me of writing an opinion paper and no research.”

A few hours later I received another email from her….Not only did my paper not have references at the bottom, there was no citations or quotes in my paper. Nothing!  Just a written paper…..A written paper that would seem like it was merely opinion and not researched. .. OUCH!!! Oh I had the smack from God! I thought I had been humbled before….nope!

I can say that I am truly thankful that I did not send her a not so nice email. Knowing me, it would have been quite arrogant, cocky with a touch of rudeness and full of ignorance.

Proverbs 14:17a”A quick-tempered man acts foolishly”
Proverbs 18:2 “A fool has no delight in understanding, But in expressing his own heart.”
Proverbs 16:8-19 “ Pride goes before destruction and a haughty spirit before a fall. Better to be of a humble spirit with the lowly, than to divide the spoil with the proud. “

Sometimes we let anger get in the way, sometimes pride takes over and sometimes simple insecurities get in the way….Sometimes we just need to get over ourselves!!

God reminded me that my arrogance, and my cocky attitude has no place here or anywhere……

