Tags

, , , , ,


“Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility regard others as better than yourselves. Let each of you look not to your own interests, but to the interests other” Phil 2:3-4

Over a week ago this was my verse of the day and it seemed to fit. I rarely check my verse of the day on my iPod, but for whatever reason (God prodding!), that evening I decided to check it. It seemed to fit the issue of the day I had heard about… What really stuck out at me, “not to your own interests, but to the interests of others.” – Humility!

My bible dictionary defines humility is as “the opposite of arrogance and pride; an attitude which grows out of the recognition that we are and everything we own are gifts from God. (Knight, 1998)

The online dictionary define humility as “the quality or condition of being humble; modest opinion or estimate of one’s own importance, rank, etc.”(Dictionary.com, 2012)

To be humble…

Have you ever done something, not out of humility and had the God smack you down? I have had this happen a few more times than I care to recount. I know it’s going to happen, but my emotions get the better of me and I think of myself. Not God, not other, but of myself.  God wants us to be humble. He tells us in Psalms 25:9(ESV) “He leads the humble in what is right, and teaches the humble his way.” Being humble allows God to teach us and to lead us. Romans 12:3 “For by the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgment, each according to the measure of faith that God has assigned. “

We’ve got to stop thinking of ourselves, and just listen. Listen to God, listen to others. We need to start judging less, and putting the interest of others before us..

One can only imagine the impact this would have if ALL Christians lived humbly…..

