This question has been rolling around in my mind. Am I looking for acceptance, affirmation from people or am I looking to glorify God with what I do and the choices I make. More to the point, am I tooting my own horn to look good??

I think about what I do, and I also just observe people and organizations. It’s so easy to boost and brag about what you have or what you have done. I think people and organization’s get their egos going and fall prey to just wanting the notoriety. Personally I don’t care for the people that have to brag and boost about all the good things they have done or how they have helped out. It seems as if the authenticity has been taken out of the helping act, and God is not there. People just need to do. No talking about it, no bragging about what’s been done, and no patting each other on the back, they need to just do, quietly. They need to do in a way that people look at them and have no doubt that God is using them. They need to help in way that people look at them and say “that’s the kind of person and Christian I want to be.’ God tells us in Matthew 6:3 “But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.” It’s clear, do in silence and God will reward you. Matthew 23:12 also tells us “Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.”

So are you seeking to glorify God? Or are you seeking to glorify yourself? You can’t do both……

