Tags

, , , ,


A few months ago I was in a bible study called An Untroubled Heart (titled from the book used). In a nut shell this book was about trusting God with everything….Yup, handing everything over to God and TRUSTING him enough to take care of it. Though this sounds heavenly, not having to worry about anything because God is handling it, however, we always think we can do better.

How many times have you really thought you had it, you can take care of it, there’s no need for help. We reach for others, looking somewhere for a solution, but get stressed or worried. I have done this plenty of times, in all honesty more times than I care to mention. Even when we “give” or “hand” it over to God, we still hang onto it, just in case God gets too busy or doesn’t handle it in our way or our time. Yet, our way, our time doesn’t seem to work that well for us because it ends us causing stress and worry…

Psalm 118:8 (ESV) “It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in man.” These really are some pretty simple words, seek God before man. Yet we seek man first, then God. Then comes the hard part, we worry, we stress and we don’t understand why. We think God has cursed us or forsaken us. After a few trials, we learn to hand things over to God, yet once again when something else comes along we always believe we can deal with it, we can handle it first.

There have been many ups and downs in my life, financial, divorce, blended family, and more. Every issue I tackled on my own, because I believed it was my problem to tackle and I was the only one who knows how to handle it. I will honestly say, my way hasn’t worked very well…It has left me stressed and worrying constantly and always full of those “What if” thoughts. Honestly my life was full of worry and what ifs and I was tired of stressing over everything. There are still times of worry and stress, but I am learning to look up to God first and more often before I look and turn elsewhere…

God tells us in Matthew 11:28-30 (ESV) “Come to me, all who labor ad are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Trusting in God…that is what it all boils down to. Trusting in Him to take care of anything and trusting in His timing, giving us a rest and easing our burden. Quite frankly, it’s not easy. It’s not easy to hand it completely over to God without taking it back…it’s not easy having faith that God is doing what is best…It’s not easy to let go.

For years I prayed that my ex-husband would sign divorce papers. I had a lawyer help me in the cheapest way possible and that did not go too well. Because of my ex’s head injury, he stated to the lawyer that he believed in “Until death do you part”…so the lawyer wasn’t thrilled with helping. I then tried to do the process on my own….even posting the divorce in the newspaper as a way to get around having him sign the papers…yeah that did not go over well either. Come to find out the paper filed at the court house was actually wrong, and not valid. So I wasted money on a newspaper post as well as filing court papers….Clearly not my time. I was a bit bothered and simply could not understand God’s reasoning to why…..

A few years passed and I truly got tired of being called his wife. I was so ready to have this divorce, and to get my maiden name back. This time was different. I was quite determined, yet this time I went to God first, and this time my ex signed the papers at the court house and the divorce was granted. When I drove away from the court house I did not call anyone to give out the good news, nope, they had to wait. I thanked God, tearfully, I went to God and thanked him not only for the final divorce, but the years of trial I went through to get here, because I truly was appreciative and finally ready…..

I went to God first, gave it to God and trusted God completely! Sweet Victory!

