Tags

, , , , , ,


Titus 2:4-8 “And so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled. Likewise, urge the younger men to be self-controlled. Show yourself in all respects to be a model of good works and in your teaching show integrity, dignity, and sound speech that cannot be condemned, so that an opponent may be put to shame, having nothing evil to say about us.”

Titus 2:11-15 “For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people, training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age, waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all lawlessness and to purify for himself a people for his own possession who are zealous for good works. Declare these things; exhort and rebuke with all authority. Let no one disregard you.

Self-control, submission, showing respect sounds like something easy to do. Yet in today’s society, we are bombarded with messages of thinking of yourself, giving in and letting go of self-control and being anything but submissive. We wonder why kids today are growing up disrespectful and with no direction….

Older men should be strong in faith, love, patience and they should also be clear-headed, respectful, and self-controlled. Older women should not be slanderers. How many women do we know that love to gossip Not only do they talk about other people, but judge as well…”Can you believe she let her daughter act like that…if it was my own daughter I would have…..” I know a few and quite honestly I have been one of those ladies….Titus 2:3″Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, nor slanderers, or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good,” Older women should be showing young women how to act and instead of listening to the gossipers talk and listening to women who are worried about the lives of others. I am at the age where I should be learning from older women, but also teaching, showing and guiding younger women down the right path. Quite frankly, I do not want to be known as the gossiper….

Young women should be modest, faithful or virtuous and homemakers. They should also be good, and obedient to their husbands. I will be honest again, at times I haven’t been the best wife (or significant other). Though I tend to be modest and faithful, I have a hard time listening or being obedient to a man. This has always been a challenge for me. In my first marriage I would tell my then husband that he was not my boss, that the only boss in my life was God. Quite the disobedient, disrespectful wife, yet, in my defense, he wanted to be more controlling than leading…. Does it make it right? No God wants us to be respectful.

God wants each of us to have self-control, he wants us to be submissive to him and our husbands. He wants us to live an upright life and he wants us to step away from ungodliness and worldly passions.

It’s interesting the path my life has been on. I asked God to in a sense clean house, clean out the dark areas of my soul and the skeletons in my closet. This has been area in which God has been cleaning out my skeletons of being in control and being disrespectful. For the past few months, he has been teaching me how to be more of the Godly woman, the significant other and mother I am should be… I have been shown how I have been disrespectful (in my thoughts and actions).

Quite frankly this lesson has not been easy, yet having God as the teacher, the pruner is amazing.…..

S.M.

