Tags

, , , , , , ,


When I was a kid I loved music (still do), loved playing the piano (especially Jazz & Blues) and also like singing. I started playing piano when I was 7. For many years I would play the piano in front of judges, and receive superior (most times). I simply loved playing. Whenever family would come over, they would ask me to play. However, the coolest thing I got to do…play the piano for the Easter Sunrise Service when I was in high school. Singing was another favorite. I think I was around 7 or 8 when I sang ‘What Child is This” at church one Sunday. I would be in plays at church, and even won the lead singing role in the elementary school play…

Growing up we were surrounded by music…music from the 50’s, 60’s & 70’s. Elvis, Abba, Dean Martin, Kiss, The Supreme’s…The list goes on and on…My cousins & I would dance to “Do the Clam’ by Elvis…We would also play Disco Duck & King Tut, over and over, dancing. I would be surprised if those record singles would still be able to play those songs. We would also sing dance to Grease, Zanadu, and whatever other 8 track we could find and jam to in the basement.

One year while on vacation my brothers & I on vacation played The Kingston Trio, over and over. Even now we can all sing their songs. These days, my brothers & I will play the piano at our parents house, playing and singing along.

In my late teens, my best friend & I would drive down 95 jamming to Kid n Play….Crank Heart, and jam out to the Big Hair bangs…(I am shaking my head just thinking about it)

These days, my kids know lots of 80 songs, lots of the songs from any Disney Movie. Yea, we have been known to sing to Disney Songs driving down the road…

Music has such a way of moving us. Making us feel good, and being the words we cant say to a loved one, and the feelings we can express ourselves.

