Its been a month now since I set my words for 2014 – Cleanse & renew – and I can say, unlike a New Years Resolution, these words tend to be forefront in my mind.

I continue on with the whole “Let it Go” from last year. So in January one of the things I am cleaning up and letting go of….just peoples post on FaceBook, or their comments. 1 Corinthians 6:12 “All things are lawful for me, but not all things are helpful. All things are lawful for me, but I will not be dominated by anything.” So, honestly, I have grown tired of the negativity, the put downs, the lets throw others under the bus, or lets say something bad about someone, even if it is the truth…etc. One of my daughters & I talked about this as well, the simple not really understanding the point of some peoples comments, other than sheer unnecessary, un-Christ-like responses. I have also limited my time of FaceBook. It has been such a time taker for me, and I now either read or work or lay in the bed watching TV or reading with my significant other there beside me while the remaining 2 children at home are playing games, or watching tv….The mental clean up…

My physical cleansing is going better than I thought! It may have a lot to do with the fact each day I ask God for the strength to eat right, and so far its been working. I am very aware of the food I am eating now. I want to know what I am actually eating. So I am learning to make homemade meals (one at a time), eating ground turkey, or veggie burgers (with real known ingredients) and even getting the kids to eat better. I found a killer homemade Chicken Noodle Soup that met the approval of all here! My kids(well teen & preteen) are loving the fruits, and even like the Hemp Protein Smoothies. My goal, is at some point is to get completely away from the processed foods. This will take time since we are all addicted to not only the taste, but the convenience of processed foods.

Finally, I have stayed on task with reading my bible each and every day. I am following a reading plan, and its working out well. I believe this is helping spiritually, but I believe it is helping me to stay on track with eating properly.

How is your word of the year working for you?

 

sm

 

 

