Tags

, , , ,


Reading through my daily bible reading, devotions & email, there was that one steady word…humble

Bible reading: Proverbs 25:6-7 “Do not be boastfully ambitious and claim honor in the presence of the king, and do not stand in the place of great men; For it is better that it be said to you, “Come up here,” than for you to be placed lower in the presence of the prince.” (AMP Version). I immediately remember what Jesus tells us in Luke 14:10 “But when you are invited, go and sit down at the last place, so that when your host comes, he will say to you, ‘Friend, move up higher’; and then you will be honored in the presence of all who are at the table with you. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who habitually humbles himself will be exalted.” (AMP version)

Daily devotions: Zig Ziglar “Thinking properly about ourselves is the first step. Instead of selfish ambition to achieve status, we feel secure in God’s love. Instead of conceit that we’re better than other, we value other highly. ”

Final daily email: Writer talked about a conflict and how she wanted to respond to the phone call “to prove how right I was and how wrong the other person was” (Lysa Terkeurst)

All of this had be thinking: am I trying to be right before man or God? am I trying to prove myself to man or God? I feel you can still be annoyed, angry, upset etc about something going on in your life, perhaps a co-worker taking credit, a situation where you know you are right, choices you make, wrong choices others make. At the end of the day, are we trying to be right before man? or before God? For me, most times I am trying to right before man, and God…

 

 

sm